What happens when you get back together after four years?  Disturbed frontman David Draimen says you go back to your old ways. The producer is new and amazing, the sound…vintage Disturbed, with a little HEART. That IS a pun. Listen to this episode to discover why, as well as what David’s first record was and much more as we we take a deep dive into Divisive, the new release from Disturbed.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube


  1. Hey You
  2. Bad Man
  3. Divisive
  4. Unstoppable
  5. Love To Hate
  6. Feeding The Fire
  7. Don’t Tell Me [feat. Ann Wilson]
  8. Take Back Your Life
  9. Part Of Me
  10. Won’t Back Down


As much as the world pulls us apart, music draws us back together. It can close the gap between even the widest fissure. Disturbed continue to unify audiences around heavy and hypnotic hard rock anthems underpinned by guttural grooves, incendiary riffs, and chaotically catchy vocals. The two-time GRAMMY® Award-nominated multiplatinum Chicago quartet—David Draiman [vocals], Dan Donegan [guitar, programming], Mike Wengren [drums], and John Moyer [bass]—make the kind of music that pushes you to hold on tighter, fight harder, and persevere forever. It’s why they’ve quietly claimed a place at the forefront of 21st century rock with record-breaking success, sales of over 17 million-plus units, nearly 8 billion streams, and sold out shows around the globe.

It’s also why they hit harder than ever on their eighth full-length offering, Divisive [Reprise Records].

“Partisan tribal warfare has become a part of our regular existence nowadays,” observes David. “It’s one big battle of the cliques. The whole idea of the record is to be a wakeup call for everyone. Our society has become addicted to outrage. Music is the best cure for what ails us though. If only everyone reached out and used it. There’s no better environment to forget about all of this shit than live music. We can be together and realize we have more in common than not. Recognize what’s happening and let’s make a change for the better.”

“Whatever it takes, we’ve got to pull it together,” agrees Dan. “We’ve always tried to take negative topics and spin them in a positive light. From touring around the world, we’ve seen the power of music as the universal language to bring everyone together from all walks of life. We can still play songs to unite people, and it’s a pretty powerful feeling.”

Speaking of unity, the musicians subconsciously rallied around a shared vision for what would become Divisive. After a period of dormancy in the midst of the Global Pandemic, the group finally congregated in early 2022. Dealing with the same frustrations for nearly two years, the guys followed a collective muse without question.

“We wanted to get heavy again,” exclaims Dan. “We’ll always be melodic, but there’s more attitude now. We’re showcasing David’s animalistic side again. It touches on our early days with modern elements.”

David adds, “After 25 years, we’ve begun to anticipate each other’s direction. We were all hankering to get back to chunky goodness,” he laughs.

“We have a lot left in us,” concludes Dan. “I know for certain I’m not done. We’re always going to need an outlet for our personal sanity. I feel inspired every time we do a record. We bring the best out of one another. I’m just excited for what the future holds.”

David leaves off, “When audiences hear the album, I hope the reaction is, ‘After the last three years, this is exactly what I wanted to get out the frustration, anger, and addiction to outrage’. There are better ways. I hope you use it as an outlet and a means of exorcising the demons once again.” – Rick Florino, September 2022

More Discover New Music Podcasts HERE